Summer fun & Summer quilting

Community summer events are so fun! The Sunday before last we went to the Marquette county fair to watch Harness horse racing. Now we did not know a thing about this but it apparently is quite popular. The lions club sold betting tickets and many hand fun with that. We are not gamblers so we just enjoyed the race. 

The beginning of each race was announced…just like at Churchill downs I guess.


Some races were close.


Sponsors got their pictures taken with winning horse.

It was a lot of fun watching the races.

Next up we went to Eldorado community picnic. This was about an hour east of us. We wentfor the food and entertainment with was “The Del Rays” a group from Oshkosh. They were very good a nice change from the usual groups we see. This place was packed and the weather was great!

I finished up “My Straits of Caribbean”. I changed the border from scrap neutrals to a aqua print. These 9 blocks were enough for me, cannot imagine a whole quilt…but I guess I do do Bonnie’s mysteries. I may save this for hand quilting during our fall trip.


Next few weeks going to focus on some machine quilting. One quilt will be in a fair and others just need to get quilted. I think I have had my fix for sewing blocks for a bit. 

Daughter Cherith passed her NCLEX exam last week so officially a RN. Today was her first day of orientation. We plan on seeing her and her apartment next week when we drop off a few things she has in storage in our garage.

Saturday we took a lovey ride to look at a log cabin with a wonderful view. The view indeed was breath taking, but we felt a little isolated. I worry that my spouse will not have enough to do. Also the price of cabin for only living ther for 6 months did not make much sense. I think we will probably put condo up on market next year when we return and may look at apartment living. Not sure he will like that either, but he can be a restless soul. We still would like to be close to family.

Today added a little hill to my walk, went ok. Humid next few days so I do not do walking. Will probably do some pool exercises.

Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

