Chinese Puzzle…

Yesterday and today I worked on a project that was a recent gift from my mom. She got me into quilting, but currently does more rug hooking. Would like to alternate some of my projects. I love the colors and use of some batik fabrics. It actually has lot of folded pieces and when sewing the block it becomes quite thick. Today I finished up piecing the back with the left over pieces in the kit. 



Close up of the folding, sewing of the blocks. Pretty fun to do.


Not sure how I will quilt this one as the middle is quite thick, also very pretty. May just do quilting on the borders. Will have to look at it and marinated it in my thoughts.


In Arizona we learned how to quilt as you go and I finished putting on the binding for this. These are string paper pieced Blocks with some machine quilting stitches and some hand Quilting. 
Finally a charity quilt. I have two exactly the same pinned and ready to machine quilt. This summer I want to play around with machine quilting and various quilting patterns. I ran across and excelled blog that does this and I am going to try it out. Machine quilting tips

I am mostly a hand quilter so want to explore this area more. So got the walking foot on the machine and today had enough time to just go around one block. I think if I try to do a block a day ( or so) it is not as overwhelming and a bit easier on the back. Currently I am sitting while sewing. I am used to standing for sewing. Hopefully once I get the injection I can return to this position. Pinning and in pinning I was sitting on the balance ball. Today I actually walked around the grocery store with spouse and it was not too bad. I just want to make it thru this weekend’s pinning ceremony and graduation. Did not sleep well last night, storms and just a bit uncomfortable. Looks like a cool and wet week ahead…..perfect for sewing/Quilting. Resting in chair I continue to design quilts via patternjam. So addictive!

Happy Quilting!

One thought on “Chinese Puzzle…

  1. You have been having such a rough time, I hope it is soon over. I know it isn’t stopping you, though, as evidenced by these pictures and your plans! I really like the Chinese Puzzle. I haven’t seen it before. Great charity plans, too. Your QAYG looks much better than ones I’ve seen. You must have learned from someone good!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.