Abi arrives, transition to AZ and a bit of quilting

Well it has been an interesting week. Abi made it safely and has been spending the week with us. We went apartment hunting and found a nice place within her budget (or the budget we made). While this is an exciting time getting her first apartment it does come with responsibilities and financial foresight. We are going to make sure she has enough for seven months, but added expenses she will need to pay for via a little cash advancement until she gets a job. She quickly unloaded her car full of things into her apartment and tomorrow we are giving her our sofa,matching chair and a queen size blow up mattress. So many of the other things she sees as necessarities,we see as things you could do without. But then she puts on the pouting face…. So in some respects it will be good for her to move into apartment and get on with school starting on Monday. She will have internet and cable here and of course food, so I am sure we will see her before we leave. I guess we are a safety net for four more weeks. We have enjoyed hiking with her except today my sciatica was bad so I finished up some hand quilting. She thought she could hike to top of peak, but realized there was a deep ravine to go down and up. 

The above is made from quilters scraps from a raffle quilt. I hand sewed the entire quilt and also hand quilted it. This will be my challenge presented at our last quilters meeting in April.

Update on my acupuncture treatments, not seeming to work very well. I do have a calcified mass ( fibroid) via X-ray in uterus that could be the cause, so I am thinking it might be the origin. I will have to follow up on this upon returning to WI. We have only 4 more weeks here, that is a long time but probably not enough time do any intervention. 

I also finished up another scrap quilt miniature scraps from a member. So I have my projects completed. May look at one of the BOM and start some of those with some of the charity fabric I am bringing home.

We also saw movie Beauty and the Beast….very good. 

Happy Quilting ….for us a moving day tomorrow.

One thought on “Abi arrives, transition to AZ and a bit of quilting

  1. Are you sad to be leaving AZ? While the winters are nice, it’s getting to the time of year I love – hot, hot, hot and dry! The palo verde and prickly pear in your table runner picture really make me homesick. Those are really nice desert colors in that piece.

    Sometimes I think about summering there, getting out of the TN humidity for a few months. I guess if those necessities really ARE necessities, Abi will find a way to pay for them, right? It’s what we have to do! I hope she loves going to school there.

    Like

Comments are closed.