En Provence…clue #1

Wonderful day with family on Thanksgiving. It however is the first year we did not have our daughters present during the day. Good food and family talking/memories. Wonderful sermon on all we have and to give thanks. The best to come when we feast at the heavenly banquet.

We spent the night at a hotel near by the gathering and took advantage of being close to where we get the oil changed on the car. Some prep for our travel to Az in about 6 weeks. Was able to see the first clue at the hotel, but did not get to start until early afternoon. This year really going to concentrate on accurate cutting and piecing. I did revisit my stash and found a few more fabrics as we are doing four patches in neutrals. New machine this year, so really trying to find and remain on a consistent 1/4 inch seam. I have some neutrals from last year’s mystery. That quilt will go to my daughter, so nice to have some of that fabric in this quilt. I worked on it for about 3.5 hours. I have taken into sewing standing, but sometimes it does bother my back after awhile. I cut a bunch of strips,then spent time playing and matching fabrics. So far so good. I always like to make a few more blocks than called for. Some of the left over scraps from cutting I am using as a leader/ender blocks that probably will be used for backing or matching pillowcases/schams. 

Love all the excitement of the mystery and the variety of colors gals choose.


En Provence -clue #1
Happy Mystery quilting!

