Summer Solstice/365 challenge quilt blocks….what is next?

Moving and settling in condo has prevented me from posting my weekly accomplishments of these blocks. At one time I was over a week behind. So today shared my week’s progress. Mostly blue, but have used some browns and greens. I have several small bits of fabric and want to use these up. I am now thinking that what I might have leftover may be used for a pair of pillow shams. This would be a great project as we drive to AZ in January. 


I completed the main block for Summer Solstice. We made flying geese using a new method and I think they got to be a little bigger than other blocks. Had a bit of a problem getting them to fit and so some of the points got cut off. I actually have another color theme with four different colors in 4 blocks. I am going to put that aside for now, maybe take it to AZ to work on down there. I am thinking two borders, blue and flower fabric. In my mind thinking about using this as a central block for a medallion quilt with other borders/blocks and let it evolve. I really do not have any wall space for a wall hanging so will need to think about that thought.


Last evening I went thru the many saved future quilting projects….so many! I am thinking I would like to plan out and set up a project a month to focus on. With fall here I have a few projects in mind. One is a fall leaf garland for living room window and then at Christmas a tree garland to replace it. I also need some oven mits the long kind. For an appliqué project a cardinal wall hanging. 

I ran across a convergence quilt, with directions I guess initially done by Ricky Tims. I got some great material from my mom that is fall and log cabin. This evening I picked out 3 other fabrics and will try it out…say tuned.

I have gotten my sewing/ quilting area pretty much set up. Most of storage is in an area in garage, still need to reorganize that a bit better.

We have gotten a lot of rain past few days, so a little soggy. But sun was great today. We got all our cellular shades up. Spouse likes playing with the top down and bottom up shades. 🙂 

Happy Quilting all!

