A little of this and that

So many great quilt patterns. Don’t we all fall victim to trying them out? 

I admit to being a Bonnie Hunter follower. I love her scrap attitude and the multiple of quilt block designs. I have been addicted to her “Wild and Goosey.” Now a new block “Garlic Knots.” So had some material sitting by and the right size to try out the block. I recently got a new sewing machine so still getting used to a new feel for the 1/4 inch seams. Anyway the block went together quite well and was very pleased with the outcome. I could see this maybe in fabrics I use I. This years quilts or upcoming QAL’s. We will see.


Then came my charity blocks. This is material from my winter friends in Sunflower Quilters in Marana,AZ. They sew quilts for Aviva. They give quilts to children in foster care. This will be my first quilt for this wonderful organization.

http://www.avivatucson.org/
I am trying to do 2-4 blocks per week. I currently have 6 blocks done and 2 in process. These have a great look and can be turned different ways. I do have some left over fabric for some other blocks in the quilt. Not sure if they will be a center or a border. We are currently showing the home and I have to keep my sewing area somewhat clean.


Finally a year long QAL challenge…356 blocks in a year. This is a great QAL and very unique blocks. I am hand sewing them as the first part of the year I was in AZ without a sewing machine. So it is a bit more time for me, but enjoying it. First few moths were dark 3 inch blocks, then center and recently just fished up 6 inch light blocks. Now back to the 3 inch dark blocks. My fabrics are totally from scratch. Finished these 2 this evening. 


http://www.365challenge.com.au/2016/06/30/june-30/
You can join this challenge anytime. She will run it again next year. Totally recommend it!

Tomorrow is yard sale so will be busy with that. Might be able to find something to hand quilt during that time.

We have someone that might be interested in our home, will wait to see if we get an offer.

Thanks for dropping by!

